I Made a Boo-Boo

We all have those stories of times in our lives where we’re surprised we didn’t die from embarrassment. You know the type… like the dream where you’re making a speech in front of a large audience of your peers and you look down and you’re standing in your underwear…

Well this story isn’t as tragic, but it was traumatic non-the-less.

It was the time in my life when I was attending community college to knock-out core classes before transferring to university. One of the required credits was history, and because I’m cheap and my boyfriend at the time was attending the same school and needed the same credit, we ended up taking the class together as to only purchase one textbook for the both of us to use. Genius, I know.

Anywho…

I had spent the day between school and work and I was boarder-line comatose by the time class began which was around 6pm.

One of the perks of this class in particular was that the professor was a complete history nerd and loved learning new stuff. As such, he would begin each session by awarding extra credit to people who could tell him things that happened that day in history. I ate up extra credit like a hormonal lady eats chocolate. It was little to no effort, and I got some extra points towards my final grade. Hell yeah!

Well, on this particular day, I went into class with my bit of trivia and waited for the inevitable, “Okay class. What happened today in history?”

I raised my hand, the teacher acknowledged me, so I stood up.

“On this day, in 1920, the Band-Aid was invented by Thomas Anderson.”

“The what now?”

As the classroom held upwards of 60 or so students, and I was seated towards the back of the room, the professor didn’t hear my contribution.

I responded, “The Band-Aid,” and without thinking straight, I held up my finger that was sporting just that; a flesh-colored bandage I had stuck on earlier in the day to cover a nasty paper cut I had received. Right as my finger was fully erect, my arm straight out in front of me, a communal gasp rang out and Boyfriend had yanked my hand down.

It was then that I realized what I had just done:

I flipped my teacher the bird in the middle of class!Β 

FFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUCCCKK!

My professor’s face matched that of everyone else’s, including mine: mouth gaping, eyes wide; not a good look for anyone, really.

Just then, I started to perform damage control. I ripped off my bandage and started waving it around like a white flag as I began divulging the details of the Wikipedia post I had read just minutes before class.

“This was invented by some dude because his wife kept hurting herself while cooking, cutting and burning herself…”

Once everyone connected the dots in their minds, the entire class erupted with laughter. Even the professor was doubled over, holding his gut in a fit of giggles.

I, on the other hand, was mortified.

But I got my extra credit, plus a funny story out of it. πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “I Made a Boo-Boo

  1. HAHAH! Just your luck, right? I’ve had a similar experience. Sort of. We were playing an “icebreaker” challenge in class. One person had to draw on the whiteboard what the other people told them to. Well, long story short, the guy told me to draw a long oval with two tiny circles at the bottom. Yeah , I ended up drawing a damn penis on the whiteboard in front of the whole damn class. LOL LOL! Laughing is good for the soul, to say the least. Haha.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh my god, that’s hilarious! To be honest, the twist that I thought was coming was going to be your history teacher being pretentious and complaining about the use of the brand name as opposed to whatever they’re meant to be called πŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

